Toggle Menu
Click here to register for the 2024 Dr. Edward A. Crown Scholarship Dinner

Congratulations to the ICJA cross country team–our school’s largest athletic team–on an incredible fall season, ending with a Conference Championship win for our girls’ squad and a very close second place Conference finish for our boys’ varsity.

The fall cross country season is short, scheduled to accommodate the busy holiday schedule, which means a lot of meets and runs packed into only two months. In spite of the challenging schedule, our runners remain a competitive force among schools across Chicagoland.

Seven schools and 124 runners raced in the conference meet, hosted by ICJA along the McCormick trail in Skokie on October 9, chol hamoed Sukkot. For the Aces, 28 students out of 48 runners achieved a personal best time (PR). The girls’ varsity squad crushed their opponents with the following results (lowest score wins):
RZ 50
Cristo Rey 63
Northtown 82

Congratulations to Tzippy David, Adina Trubnick, Nechama Braun, Tova Oliff and Shira David on taking 2nd, 3rd, 4th, and 6th, followed closely by Meira at 8th. What a pack! Five out of the seven varsity girls set a PR.

The boys varsity came just short of winning first place by one point, with the following results:
RZ 35
Cristo Rey 61
Northtown 101
Ellison 111
CTK 121

Three out of seven varsity boys set a PR or ran for the first time at this distance.

Ezra Perlow took first to finish his ICJA career with another gold. Micah Cohen took fourth place. RZ’s pack took 6th, 7th, 8th and snuck in at 11th to win the gold. Both team are graduating three varsity runners including both teams’ #1 runners and RZ’s #2 runner.  The field will be open next year for everyone to step up next year.

The boys’ open finished strong again beating RZ 24 – 31. Josh Pogonitz and Benny Albom made their case for varsity 2018, taking gold and silver.
Thirteen out of 19 open boys set a PR.

The girls open came up short loosing to RZ 35 – 24. Seven of 15 open girls set a PR.

Congratulations to this dedicated team of runners and to incredible coaches, Ezra Jaffe and Dana Hunter.

Sign up for our Newsletter

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.