Toggle Menu

Congratulations to the outstanding seniors inducted into the National Honor Society: Torah Chapter this week! This is especially impressive because our students demonstrate excellence in a dual curriculum and in community service. Two speakers at the ceremony this week put it in perspective:

Tamar Chavel said, “The National Honors Society Torah Chapter at Ida Crown has exemplified a search for knowledge unique to this school, because at any other school with an NHS chapter students learn at a high academic level–there is lots of homework, many tests, and challenging material. At Ida Crown, while the students take secuclar classes, they take an equal number of Jewish studies courses as well. While managing to maintain a good GPA in this situation is an amazing accomplishment in itself, every student here tonight is being inducted into the National Honors Society Torah Chapter because he or she has taken that learning a step further. These students apply the scholarly thinking expected of them in general studies classes to explore Jewish and general studies topics together, unifying intellectual thought with moral, religious, and spiritual studies. They take charge, leading the people in their classes, extra curricular activities, and clubs, enabling those people to begin thinking critically in this way.”

Rebecca Friedman said, “The service requirement for NHS admission includes completing 60 hours of chesed and 20 service points by the end of junior year. There are 24 members so if you do the math, 24 times 60 and 24 times 20, then we should have a total of at least 1,440 chesed hours and 480 service points. Wow, that’s a lot!”

Congratulations Matan Auerbach, Shoshana Bar-Meir, Jordan Benditzson, Ari Best, Abigail Brasch – President, Tamar Chavel, Tzippy David, Jacob Felix, Rebecca Friedman – Secretary/Treasurer, Ruby Grant, Batsheva Gubin, Hadassah Gubin, Aviva Lakser, Yitzchak Nadoff, Tova Oliff, Noah Pogonitz, Julia Polster, Rebecca Quintas, Sara Richter, Ethan Shulman, Taliah Soleymani – Vice President, Hillel Stadlan, Molly Stein and Sara Weiss.

Sign up for our Newsletter

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.